Cannes Film Festival 2017 : The Square Wins Palme d’Or

This Year’s Cannes Film Festival wrapped up with joyous occasions. After a 2 week of speculations about which movie might win the Palm d’Or, the jury handed over the award to Ruben Ostlund for his film ‘The Square’.

After a 56-year run of the Best Director prize going to men, Sofia Coppola broke it by taking that prize for her well-received Southern thriller ‘The Beguiled’. She was one of many Hollywood figures to put in a good showing this year, as the Best Actor prize went to Joaquin Phoenix for the kidnap thriller ‘You Were Never Really Here’, Diane Kruger took Best Actress for the terrorism drama ‘In the Fade’, and Nicole Kidman, who had four projects at Cannes, won a special prize awarded for the festival’s 70th anniversary.

Here is the list of winners;

Palme d’Or: The Square, Ruben Östlund

Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Director: Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Special Prize: Nicole Kidman

Jury Prize: Loveless, Andrey Zvyagintsev

Screenplay: The Killing of a Sacred Deer, Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou; You Were Never Really Here, Lynne Ramsay